Explore Databases & Resources

  • EBSCOhost - EBSCOhost databases provides access to multi-disciplinary databases indexing periodicals including many full-text periodicals and other online resources.
  • Gale Literary Index - Master index to 130 literature products from Gale. Many of the resources are available in the reference section of Guyton Library. Check the list of available volumes here.
  • Google Scholar - A way to search Google for scholarly, academic works.
  • Issues & Controversies - Featuring a dynamic design and a wealth of features, Issues & Controversies helps researchers understand today’s crucial issues by exploring hundreds of hot topics in politics, government, business, society, education, and popular culture.
  • JSTOR - JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
  • JURN - JURN is a unique search tool, helping you to find free academic articles and books. JURN harnesses all the power of Google, but focuses your search through a hand-crafted and curated index. Established in 2009 to comprehensively cover the arts and humanities, in 2014 JURN expanded in scope. JURN now also covers selected university full-text repositories and many additional ejournals in science, biomedical, business and law. In 2015/6 JURN expanded again, adding over 600 ejournals on aspects of the natural world.
  • MedlinePlus - This resource is produced by the National Library of Medicine and provides current information on over 1000 medical conditions. You can use this website to learn about treatments and clinical trials and get definitions for words or information about prescription and nonprescription drugs and supplements.
  • Library of Congress - The Library of Congress website features a vast collection of historical documents and images available for free. You can search for specific terms or browse the digital collections to find something interesting.
  • Project Gutenberg - Project Gutenberg offers over 59,000 free eBooks. Choose among free epub and Kindle eBooks, download them or read them online. You will find the world's great literature here, with focus on older works for which U.S. copyright has expired.
  • Project Muse - Scholarly projects demand reliable content. Project MUSE is your trusted source for the highest quality books and journals in the humanities and social sciences from over 200 of the world's most distinguished university presses and scholarly societies. When you search, click show "only content I have access to" to filter out locked content.
  • PubMed - PubMed comprises more than 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
  • Ripley Public Library - The Ripley Public Library provides access to the Magnolia databases to its patrons. These databases cover a wide range of topics. If you scroll down the bottom of the page, you will see the link to the Magnolia databases. Login with the password magn1213.
  • SAGE Publishing (includes Review and Expositor) - SAGE is a leading international provider of innovative, high-quality content publishing more than 1000 journals and over 800 new books each year, spanning a wide range of subject areas. Our growing selection of library products includes archives, data, case studies and video.
  • Salem Press: The Reference Shelf - Read The Reference Shelf online! Each year, over 250 carefully selected articles and documents provide balanced coverage, supported by comprehensive background information, on the topics of vital interest to students and researchers in our fast-changing world.
  • Taylor & Francis Online - Taylor & Francis partners with world-class authors, from leading scientists and researchers, to scholars and professionals operating at the top of their fields.
  • United States Government Manual - The United States Government Manual was published initially as a loose-leaf notebook, its pages held in place by three metal rings. For over eight decades, this New Deal-era publication has been the "official handbook" of the Federal Government.
  • USA.gov - This government resource offers information about federal laws and regulations, labor and work-related legal issues, personal legal issues, disability rights, and how government works.
  • U.S. Census Data - This government website provides statistical census data on the U.S., states, and communities. You can search for a specific place to see the data available, or you can explore by subject.
  • VitalSource Helps - Temporary access to a wide variety of textbooks and other resources during the COVID-19 pandemic. You will need to make an account with your BMC email address to access these materials.
  • WorldCat - WorldCat is the world's largest network of library content and services. WorldCat libraries are dedicated to providing access to their resources on the Web, where most people start their search for information.
  • World Fact Book - The World Fact Book is provided through the Central Intelligence Agency (C.I.A.) and provides information about countries, including general information about the country, geography, people and society, government, economy, energy, communications, transportation, military, and summaries of transnational issues.